The CCCA conducts Car Club Challenge races at Pacific Raceways and Bremerton Raceway during the regular racing season.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Washington Introduces Bill to Restrict Access to Collector License Plates

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
GT347

avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2010-09-18
Location : Snohomish

PostSubject: Washington Introduces Bill to Restrict Access to Collector License Plates   Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:14 pm

Washington Introduces Bill to Restrict Access to Collector License Plates

SEMA Action Network (SAN)
Date sent 02/17/2011 01:02:04 pm
URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

Washington Introduces Bill to Restrict Access to Collector License Plates; House Transportation Committee Hearing Scheduled for Tues., Feb. 22



Legislation (H.B. 1933) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “collector vehicles” has been introduced in the Washington State Legislature by Representative Fred Finn (fred.finn@leg.wa.gov). Under the bill, vehicles seeking registration as collector vehicles would be required to be at least 40 years old. Currently, vehicles 30 years old or older are eligible for collector vehicle status and plates and the one-time registration fee. The bill also creates penalties for violating the limited-use provisions. A public hearing to consider the bill is scheduled for Tuesday, February 22, 2011.


We Urge You to Contact Members of the Washington House Transportation Committee (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1933
For those interested in attending the hearing to voice opposition, the Committee will meet on Tue., Feb. 22 at 1:30 p.m. at the following address:

House Hearing Room B
John L. O'Brien Building
Olympia, WA 98504

· H.B. 1933 makes it more difficult to register legitimate collector vehicles, which are limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades and occasional pleasure driving.


· H.B. 1933 assesses monetary penalties for use violations and qualifies a third violation as a misdemeanor which will require collector plates to be replaced with standard plates for an annual registration fee.


· H.B. 1933 does not define “occasional pleasure driving” or designate what action would constitute a use violation.

· H.B. 1933 requires the Department of Licensing to establish a method for law enforcement to readily access collector vehicle information using the collector vehicle’s plate number.

H.B. 1933 ignores the fact that existing collector vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained and infrequently operated.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Washington House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 1933.


Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.


Washington House Transportation Committee


Representative Judy Clibborn - Chair

Phone: 360/786-7926
Email: judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Andy Billig - Vice Chair

Phone: 360/786-7888
Email: andy.billig@leg.wa.gov

Representative Marko Liias - Vice Chair

Phone: 360/786-7972
Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Armstrong

Phone: 360/786-7832
Email: mike.armstrong@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jan Angel

Phone: 360/786-7964
Email: jan.angel@leg.wa.gov

Representative Katrina Asay

Phone: 360/786-7830
Email: katrina.asay@leg.wa.gov

Representative Deb Eddy

Phone: 360/786-7848
Email: deb.eddy@leg.wa.gov

Representative Fred Finn

Phone: 360/786-7902
Email: fred.finn@leg.wa.gov

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

Phone: 360/786-7952
Email: joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mark Hargrove

Phone: 360/786-7918
Email: mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov


Representative Laurie Jinkins

Phone: 360/786-7930
Email: laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Norm Johnson

Phone: 360/786-7810
Email: norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brad Klippert

Phone: 360/786-7882
Email: brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dan Kristiansen

Phone: 360/786-7967
Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Connie Ladenburg

Phone: 360/786-7906
Email: connie.ladenburg@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim McCune

Phone: 360/786-7824
Email: jim.mccune@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jim Moeller

Phone: 360/786-7872
Email: jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jeff Morris

Phone: 360/786-7970
Email: jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov

Representative Luis Moscoso

Phone: 360/786-7900
Email: luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jason Overstreet

Phone: 360/786-7980
Email: jason.overstreet@leg.wa.gov

Representative Chris Reykdal

Phone: 360/786-7940
Email: chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers

Phone: 360/786-7850
Email: ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne

Phone: 360/786-7852
Email: jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Christine Rolfes

Phone: 360/786-7842
Email: christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Representative Cindy Ryu

Phone: 360/786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea

Phone: 360/786-7984
Email: matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dean Takko

Phone: 360/786-7806
Email: dean.takko@leg.wa.gov

Representative Dave Upthegrove

Phone: 360/786-7868
Email: dave.upthegrove@leg.wa.gov

Representative Hans Zeiger

Phone: 360/786-7968
Email: hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov





_________________
Kent Magruder
Site Administrator
Former CCCA President
Current CCCA Treasurer
W01 Ford Drag Team Capt.


Last edited by GT347 on Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:59 pm; edited 3 times in total (Reason for editing : Added details to link - db)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GT347

avatar

Posts : 180
Join date : 2010-09-18
Location : Snohomish

PostSubject: UPDATE - Olympia agreed to 30 years instead of 40 years   Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:47 pm


_________________
Kent Magruder
Site Administrator
Former CCCA President
Current CCCA Treasurer
W01 Ford Drag Team Capt.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Washington Introduces Bill to Restrict Access to Collector License Plates
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Line-up for Bill Wren Tournament
» Bill Wren Classic 2009
» Greetings Brothers from damp and cloudy Washington
» DCUC Matty collector exclusives
» bill changer machine..?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Car Club Challenge Association :: General Discussion :: Legislative Alerts-
Jump to: